The Music of Stuart Jones


For piano
Dur: 22:00

Pentad is a set of five short piano pieces. Unlike earlier pieces of mine with extra-musical considerations, these pieces were motivated purely by the registral and rhythmic placement of pitches within the piano sound space. This placement of the pitches creates varying moods in the five pieces, but the overall desired effect is a clarity of pitches in the sound space. In other words, each pitch should be clearly heard in its own definition as well as in its relationship to the pitches surrounding it. On a larger scale, the pitch placements combine to highlight differing registers of the piano so that one feels the flow of movement between the piano registers. Rhythmic flow is heard through the varying tempos between and within the five movements as well as the speed with which the pitches occur in time and space.


  • Karen Harvey, Slosberg Hall, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA Oct 25, 1991
  • Karen Harvey, Emmanuel Church, Boston, MA Oct 27, 1991
  • Marilyn Nonken, Miller Theatre, New York, NY Nov 12, 1993